Wednesday, October 5, 2022
HomeWhistleblowersImo By-Election: Contentions As INEC Declares Party, Not Candidate; Winner.

Imo By-Election: Contentions As INEC Declares Party, Not Candidate; Winner.

Drama ensued at the state Secretariat of the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC in Owerri, when the Election Returning Officer, Hakeem Adikum, declared All Progressives Congress, the winner of the Imo North bye-election which held Saturday without returning a candidate.

INEC’s failure to return any candidate as the winner of the election caused disquiet in the hall, as the supporters of the two persons, Ifeanyi Araraume and Frank Ibezim, laying claims to the APC ticket who were waiting to jubilate outside went home unannounced.

Announcing the results, the Returning Officer said that APC scored 36, 811 votes, while Emmanuel Okewulonu of the Peoples Democratic Party came second with 31, 903 votes.

The INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner in Imo state, Prof Francis Ezeonu, told journalists that the electoral umpire was unable to return a particular candidate from APC as the winner of the election because of what he described as several court orders for and against Ararume and Ibezim of the APC.

Reports earlier showed  that, an Abuja Federal High court had on Friday disqualified Ibezim from contesting the bye-election election.
On the same day, a court of Appeal in Owerri sacked Araraume as the candidate of the APC and declared Ibezim as the authentic candidate of the party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: